Lima

Standard

I have spend a night and a day in Lima. The city is overwhelming and I do not really like it. My hostel is in Miraflores so I spent the morning here. It is very commercial. There are American restaurants and shops everywhere.
I walked to parque de amor where i got a nice view of the coast.

image

Then I took a bus to Barranco where the buildings are more in a Colonial style.

image

From barranco I took the metro (bus) to the city center. In Plaza de armas I met a German girl who told me there would be a free walking tour at 3 pm. I did the tour with her. We saw the gastronomic museum which was ok, but a bit borring. It cost 3 soles. Then we went to San Domingo church, where the relics of San Martin and santa rosario are located. We got a view of the poor and “dangerous” neighbourhood which is cut off from the city center by a river.

image

Finally we had a pisco tasting

image

image

image

After the tour the German girl and I went to have a typical Lima dessert: half arroz zambito half mazamorra morrada. It was ok to try but not amazing 🙂

image

I had the most amazing dinner at vegan restaurant AlmaZen in Miraflores. It was a timballe de quinoa with avocado cream.
Directions: Recavarren 298, Miraflores (corner of Recavarren and Jose Galvez. Close to the chocolate museum in calle berlin)

image

image

 

Leave a Reply

