Work All Day, Work All Night

Standard

Last night I went to a reggae party to celebrate Bob Marley’s birthday. His music is still very popular here. After the party I went to another bar. On the sidewalk across from the bar, a woman was selling corncobs and yuccachips. I asked her about her life, and she told me she had to work night and day in order to afford books and pencils for her children. She had 5 children – the youngest 9. She lived with her husband and children in Sutiava – the indigenous community in León.

I asked if she still practiced Sutiava traditions, and she answered amnistía.

She told me she was a catholic; she uses traditional indigenous clothes at parties; the indigenous traditions are most apparent during Easter.

I wondered when she would go to sleep. When I left at 2am she was still there, and I have often seen her during daytime as well. She seemed happy, but her life seemed hard.

Leave a Reply

