Telica

Standard
telica

Telica

Last Saturday I traveled to Telica. We left León around 2.30 pm. It took about two hours to drive from León to the volcano.  The country roads were dusty. It seemed as if we were in the middle of a big cloud, and I wondered how the driver could navigate. At least the car was closed. The day before I had traveled to León Viejo in an open bus/truck, and the dust made it hard to breathe – it felt as if I had swallowed a sandpit. The country roads were very uneven as well. Friday I was sure the truck would tip over, and at some point we all had to get out of the car because it was stuck.

On the way to the volcano we made a stop to greet a peasant family. They looked happy and openhearted.

The Telica hike was easy. There were many rocks on the trail, but it only took about an hour to reach the crater. We took turn to crawl to the crater and grovel with our heads over the crater. There was a strong smell of sulfur, which stayed in my throat for a while. There was not much to see, except from a big white cloud of smoke. But lying there was amazing.

telica

I watched the sunset over the Pacific Ocean. The sun disappeared into the ocean at exactly 6pm. It was so beautiful. The landscape was interesting. It was totally flat, but volcanoes popped of from the plains towards Managua, to the north and behind us. This made it easy to view the ocean, León, Managua and Lago de Managua. The sun seemed flat when it sunk into the ocean.

Telica

Telica

We put on our headlights and walked back to the crater in the twilight. As we came closer to the crater a magical a magical noise broke out. It was as if the volcano talked with a loud and deep voice. I got to grovel with my head over the crater again. This time the view had changed. The lava fizzed in the depth. I wondered if I could see the bottom, or if the hole reached all the way to the center of the earth. I had no sense of the distance, but the lava looked like big rocks glowing with a burning red color. The smell of sulfur once again willed my nostrils.

Telica's lava

Telica’s lava

The sky was covered by starts. I even saw a shooting star.

No wonder why the indigenous people animated nature.

Telica

Telica

Leave a Reply

